A letter from Amma

Hey munchkin,
Amma is writing you this letter just for you know that how much I love you. Today, you’re old enough to read it and I sincerely hope that I’m making sense. I really dont know if you’re the world’s bravest daughter or the cutest ever son with the smile of an angel. But always remember, no matter you being a girl or boy, Amma and Appa will always love you with all our heart and soul.

I still remember the day when perimma delivered Aarudh Anna. Amma was only 22 then. From the day he was born, till today, Amma has always wished the best for you all. But kanna always keep in my mind, life is what you make it. Success simply won’t knock your door, you’ve to earn it. Happiness is not something you can easily find in this mean materialistic world, you’ve to hunt for it. Today, you’ve everything you’ll ever need in life. You’ve a cosy comfortable house, you are in one of the best educational institution, you’ve branded toys and gadgets, you’ve have the coolest friends and more than anything you’ve us. Amma’s childhood was also close to yours, but all I had was only thatha and paati, yet I was the most happiest child in the world. So let me tell you something today and I hope this will get etched in your heart forever.

Thatha and paati’s marriage was an arranged one while Paati was only 17 and thatha was 27. Fortunately they worked out their way so well. Thatha was a business person and the struggle he had faced is real and big. Paati was only 19 when Aarthi perimma was born. Ever since then they had dedicated us their body, blood and bones. We din’t initially have a luxurious life. All four of us had to sleep in a cramped 10×10 room. Yet we did have a cheerful and contented life. We did face crisis and crunches, but thatha and paati never let it affect us. They did everything that could possibly make us happy. There were also times they had trouble meeting out household expenses. We barely knew that they were having a tough time, yet they never spilt a word about their hardships and toil. And you know what was their expensive ever gift to us was? ‘Self confidence and Self respect’.

Yes! Amma was a naive kid who lacked self confidence. Amma felt so disgusted with my own self that I always felt inferior and hated myself. But never once did thatha and paati compare me with an another fellow child. Thatha is the only reason behind the woman I’m today. Paati never failed to take my side no matter how I progressed or screwed up in life. Gradually with time things proved to get better and beautiful. They built a two storey house, bought a new car, put us into best schools and college, gave us everything even before we could ask for, got us married to the best life partners. This has been our lives so far.

Ofcourse every mom and dad would do the same to their kids and this is no different from anybody else. But this letter is specially for you to know that everything you’ve today isn’t easy to get. Even the cheapest toy you’ve is from the hard earned money of Appa. Even a spoonful of food you secretly throw away in school has got all of Amma’s love for you. Every single time we politely restrain you from doing something is only because we can’t take the sight of you getting hurt. Trust us, life is never easy kanna though it seems simple and fancy from outside. Your thatha and paati rarely shared their struggles with us and that is why Amma doesn’t want to commit the same mistake again. I strongly believe that at this point of time, you ought to know how your actual life is going to be. This isn’t to scare you nor I’m bragging about what we’ve done for you so far, but a gentle reminder to always remain grateful for what you’ve now and for what you will have in the future.

And here’s is the reality to you. Its 2020 now, Amma is just 23 and isn’t even married yet. Thatha and paati are still young and Aarudh anna is just 500 days old. But you know what? I’m so sure that Amma would be giving you the best life you deserve. I have no clues how life is going to hit me further. But all I know is things are going to be fine very soon and never your amma & appa will ever let go of that hope in life. And god forbid, if Amma isn’t able to provide you with the best life choices, and if you really happen to read this someday, remember no matter what I will always love you to the moon and back.

Love,
Amma

So, this letter is not just for the kids of today, tomorrow but also for the kids of yesterday. With the fast pace of life we tend to overlook the sacrifices and the amount of efforts put in by our parents to make our lives a better one. Sometimes I strongly believe that the key to open the doors of your future lies in your past. And when you turn back and look at your journey there’s not a day without your parents. So if you are someone who’s away from your parents physically and mentally, I think it’s high time for you pay back a fair share of love. ‘Cuz you never know what future has in store for us.

6 Comments

Leave a comment