It’s okay not to be okay

Do you ever get startled with the swift pace of your life? Like you literally feel like yelling, “Heyyyy you! Slow down for God damn sake!!” Because one day you’re a happy kid loitering around aimlessly, and the next day you find yourselves as a sulked & stressed adult! Well, by the time I found this phenomena bizarre, there were this statement buzzing around me, “Welcome to adulthood madame!” To those dumbheads just like me who dreamt of adulthood to be a cakewalk, “Dude! we were so delusive about this dude.”

While I fancied about a glam life, posh routine, a vintage home and a job that pays me money to burn, my castle in the air got crashed when reality struck my head so hard! “Life is not what you read in fairy tales!!” echoed these words in hundreds of voices in my ears.

After being grumpy for a week and whiling away every single day just in bed, the first sight of myself at the mirror shook me up. Not being able to hold myself up well, the ill-tempered idle brain of mine me randomly began to question the existence of atoms in the universe! (P.S. Weird isn’t it? Well now I actually feel you. Depression and stress does makes you think and question surreal.) In a room that could not be anymore chaotic, having clothes scattered and dumped all over, I found myself in a corner wearing ages old night dress with puffed eyes, swollen face and an entangled messed up braid. And that’s the moment I told myself, “It’s okay not to be okay!”

I wasn’t feeling ‘OKAY’ but then I realised I barely fell ashamed of it. Not once I was hesitant to express my insecurities and fears. I let my soul out of the cage in which locked myself into and at no moment I cared about how society (P.S. It’s us who make it) would judge me. All I did was to reiterate the phrase, ‘It’s totally okay not to be okay’.

Failed job? Career insecurities? Dodging away from responsibilities? Wishing to flee away for a while? Then do it. Run as far as you can but don’t come to an halt unless you figure out what you want. It’s just a phase and you never know sometimes life puts you through such difficult phases not for you to suffer but for you to face it up.

It’s totally fine if you’ve zero penny in hand, it’s alright if you cry in front of a huge crowd, it’s okay to be naive and it’s also okay if you slip off not just once, twice and thrice but a billion times. Always keep in mind it’s only you who can help yourself regain strength and courage, so pamper yourself, sip your favorite cup of beverage, take long showers, isolate yourselves from negativity, read a novel of your choice, grab your ear phones and play your kind of beat. After all it’s you in your private space. People and money may come and go, if you’re not destined to attain success today, wait for tomorrow to be your day. After all ‘Its completely okay not to be okay’.

Happy reading, ❤️

Mahalakshmi Ramasubramanian

Leave a comment